About the founder of the KLÁRA HERCZEG PRIZE

Klára Herczeg, sculptor, winner of the Munkácsy prize, was born in Budapest, on 13 October 1906. She spent her childhood in Vienna. She started her art studies in Vienna, following which she attended the Budapest Fine Arts College from 1924-1928, where Zsigmond Kisfaludy Stróbl was her master. From 1929-30 she lived in Berlin, where, among other things, she made small sculptures for the Rosenthal porcelain works to make her living. Between 1930-33 she trained herself beside Charles Despiau in Paris. From 1925 she was present at inland and international exhibitions with her works. She participated in the 1937 Paris Expo and the 1938 New York Expo. About thirty of her sculptures can be seen in public places in Budapest and throughout the country. Apart from Hungarian museums, her works can be found abroad as well (i.e. in the Nuremberg Dürer-Haus).

About the prize for young artists (junior grade): In her will, the sculptor, who deceased on 6 August 1997, made the Young Artists Foundation a beneficiary of the inheritance, with the purpose of supporting career-starting artists. The Advisory Board of the Foundation decided to establish a prize named after the testator, to be granted each year to the artist selected by the Advisory Board.

About the prize for elderly artists (senior grade): Klára Herczeg always considered the advance of the young and the older generations towards each other very important. For this reason, the trustee of the heritage (Dr. Ildikó Szűcs) has decided to leave the honour of managing the senior grade of the Klára Herczeg prize to the Studio of Young Artists Association (an organisation representing career-starting artists). This year the leadership of the SYAA asked János Sugár artist to make a suggestion about the expectant of the prize. Both prizes will be awarded at a ceremony in the Studio Gallery (6 Képíró u. Budapest 1053) at 6 PM on 13 October, the birthday of the testator.


2007. senoir grade: Tamás St. Auby, junior grade: Ferenc Gróf (Societé Realiste)

2006. senoir grade: Tamás Szikora, junior grade: Zsolt Tibor

2005. senoir grade: Péter Türk, junior grade: Anikó Lóránt

2004. senoir grade: Ferenc Lantos, junior grade: Attila Galbovy / Barna Péli

2003. senoir grade: Pál Deim, junior grade: György Szász

2002. senoir grade: János Major, junior grade: Ádám Kokesch

2001. senoir grade: Tibor Kaján, junior grade: Emese Benczúr
Benczúr Emese Kaján Tibor Kaján 	Tibor

2000. senoir grade: Gyarmathy Tihamér, junior grade: Király András

1999. senoir grade: Lossonczy Tamás, junior grade: Schneemeier Andrea

1998. senoir grade: Papp Oszkár, junior grade: Wächter Dénes

<< foundation